Is Cannabis Legal?
In Massachusetts, yes! In November 2016, Massachusetts voters approved ballot question 4, legalizing recreational cannabis for individuals at least 21 years old.
Can I Grow Cannabis?
Absolutely! As long as you are at least 21 years of age, you can grow up to six plants in your home. If there’s more than one person over 21 living in your home who wants to grow, there can be a maximum of 12 plants in the home. Make sure that the plants are grown in an area that has a lock or security device and that the plants are not visible from a public place without the use of binoculars, aircraft, or other optical aids. Additionally, you can’t manufacture cannabis or hemp at home by means of any liquid or gas, other than alcohol, that has a flashpoint below 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
How Much Cannabis Can I Have?
You can have on your person up to one ounce of cannabis. No more than 5 grams of cannabis may be in the form of concentrate. You can have up to 10 ounces of cannabis and any cannabis produced by plants cultivated on the premises in your home.
How Much Cannabis Can I Purchase?
You can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis, of which no more than 5 grams can be concentrate, per visit. Please note that Gage does implement additional purchase limits from time to time based on product supply.
Can I Sell Cannabis?
No, only licensed dispensary may sell cannabis. Consumers may not sell cannabis to any other individual. A first-time offense (less than 50lbs) can be subjected up to 2 years in prison or a $5,000 fine. Additional offense can result in 2.5 years of imprisonment or a $10,000 fine.
Can I Travel with Cannabis?
You are permitted to travel with cannabis utilizing the guidelines below as long as you remain within mainland Massachusetts. Cannabis cannot be transported across state lines or across federal land or waters.
How Do I Transport Cannabis?
Like alcohol, you cannot have an open container of adult-use cannabis or cannabis products in the passenger area of your car while on the road or at a place where the public has access. An “open container” includes a package with its seal broken or a package from which the contents have been partially removed. The “passenger area” does not include a trunk or a locked glove compartment. Driving while under the influence of cannabis is prohibited by M.G.L. c. 90, s. 24, and other machinery should not be operated.
I Am from Out of State. Can I Purchase Cannabis at Gage?
Sure! As long as you are at least 21 years of age and have a valid ID, you are welcome to shop at Gage.
Can I Use Cannabis in Public?
No, you cannot use cannabis in a public place. While the civil penalty is up to $100, cities and towns may pass bylaws or ordinances authorizing exceptions in certain areas for social consumption.
How Should I Store My Cannabis?
Any amount above one ounce must be secured by a lock. Cannabis should be kept away from children at all times.
Is Cannabis Safe to Use?
Cannabis has not been analyzed by the FDA. There is limited information on side effects and there may be health risks associated with using cannabis.
Is Your Cannabis Tested?
Yes, any cannabis that is sold at Gage is must test thorough screenings for contaminants such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microbiology. All cannabis products are also tested for potency.